Argentina  |  The Netherlands

Diego makes music that tells a narrative,  engages, provokes and intrigues

Live ensemble concerts,  electronica, 

music-theater, dance, film, installations

Diego lived and studied composition in

Buenos Aires, Toronto and The Hague

It deals with identity, human emotions,

expressiveness, communication

He resides as an active freelance artist

in Amsterdam since 2010

©Brand Berghouwer


solo piano
EP (2022)


Album download

available on desktop version


Take me

EP (2021)


Album download

available on desktop version

1-Agua - Soifer
2-Espacio - Soifer
4-Acero - Soifer
3-Hold tighter - Soifer
5-Ruido - Soifer
6-Europa - Soifer
7-Last round - Soifer


Mundo is a spacial journey.

Impossible places are created departing from images of the Earth, treated as they where a painting by MC Escher.


Direction, depth, melodies, instruments, colours appear in counterintuitive places. Yet the fantastic landscape behaves organically. 

The album is strongest on headphones as a visual experience dictated by sound. 

Mundo [2018].jpg

Album download

available on desktop version

Mundo [2018]

Three electronic EPs


Album download

available on desktop version



Video-loop installation

Screen Shot 2019-01-29 at 11.04.50.jpg

This piece was written in 2012 in its acoustic version for a music-theater performance, and in 2018 in its electroacoustic version.
The cellist does not use the bow. 
The pizzicato together with the music language reminisces faint memories of  Spain and Argentina. 


Cello and electronics

Pierre Niviere, Director
Doris Hochscheid, Cello
Federica Dalla Pozza, performer

Alice Heron, art director
Alice Sprascio, assistant art director

Pierre Niviere, director of photography

Xinzhu Wu, assistant director of photography
Jaja Sohn, choreographer


Bart de Kater on Basset-Horn

Video-loop installation

Warheads thumbnail.jpg

Videoclip of my electroacoustic track Warheads. 

The title refers to the nuclear weapons. It is a commentary on our over-militarised and violent society  we seem to keep building.

Filmed in Paradiso (Amsterdam) by the audience with their phones.

Edited by Sergio Gridelli.
Music by Diego Soifer, for basset-horn and electronics.

Basset-horn and electronica


Film music and sound

When the moon meets the sun

Short film

Studio recordings


Studio recordings


CD Recording Clarinet quartet

The first album of Nieuw Amsterdams Klarinet Kwartet includes 2 tracks I composed for them.

Springlevend - NAKK - Soifer
Those who remain - NAKK - Soifer
hotel thumbnail.jpg

¡¿Qué fiesta?!

Studio recording ensemble piece

¡¿Qué fiesta?! - Soifer

This work was a commission from Nederlands Jeugd Orkest for a festive piece for the Gran Partita instrumentation, performed at Radio Kotwijk and the Onmisport for a massive audience, as part of the Congress of the Dutch institution of mayors (VNG). 

In this studio recording:
Oboes - Arthur Klaassens, Esther van der Ploeg
Clarinets - Lily Molnar, Astrid den Daas
Basset Horns - Heleen Oomen, Mayuko Tekeda
Bassoons - Joeri Deckers, Georgie Powell
Horns - Hanna Guirten, Felix Peijnenborgh, Mees Vos, Rinske van Oosterhout, Susanna ten Wolde
Contrabass - Benjamin de Boer

Conductor - Jasper de Waal 

Recording engineer - Tom Peeters (Cobra Records)

kinora thumbnail.jpg
When moon thumbnail.jpg

Short films

dry celaners thumbnail.jpg